101 Reasons to Attend College

June 26, 2018
Record Breaking Year for Mendocino College Foundation
Adopt A Fifth Grader Program (AAFG)

The Mendocino College Foundation (MCF) announced that 101 fifth-graders throughout Lake and Mendocino counties received the AAFG award this year. “Last year 85 students were sponsored, and we grew by an additional 16 recipients this year,” stated Marilyn Harden, Foundation President.

MCF began administering the program in 2007 from Hopland Elementary School with one AAFG recipient. The program has steadily grown each year, and donors continue to support the program year-after-year.

According to Katie Fairbairn, Foundation Executive Director, “Since 2007, 466 students have received this award and a guarantee of a $1,000 college scholarship. Recipients are recognized at their school’s end of year ceremony and because of this program there are thousands of fifth-graders talking about going to college.”

In 2018, the program had 101 AAFG recipients representing both counties. The Rotary Club of Fort Bragg has continued to provide a very generous $200 match towards every AAFG adoption on the coast.

“Instead of providing the customary $700, businesses and individuals stepped up with $500 which was then matched with $200 by the Rotary Club of Fort Bragg. There were 40 AAFG awards on the coast this year compared to last year's 30,” stated Anna Kvinsland, Development Director, Consultant.

This program is made possible by the generous support of you our donors. The 2018 list includes: Roland Takashi Minami, Leslie and Al Banta, Ukiah Kiwanis Club, Bob Blanc, Doug Boswell and Family, Derivi Castellanos Architects, Channing and Diana Cornell, Don & Lynda Coursey, Mark and Wendy DeMeulenaere, Tom Dow, Carl Ehmann, Rotary Club of Lakeport, Eric & Alison Glassey, Mendocino College Management Supervisory Confidential Staff, Jim & Marilyn Harden, Edward Haynes, Tom Herman, Ken & Brenda Hoek, Paul & Pam Jepson, Wade Koeninger, Mary Lamb, Howie Hawkes & Mary Anne Landis, John & Sandra Mayfield, Community First Credit Union, Gary Nix, George & Ruth Bradford Foundation, Dr. Stephen & Elisabeth Pasternak, David & Charlotte Rapport, Gary Ross, David & Christy Scollin, Lake County Friends of Mendocino College, North Shore Business Association, Irma Turner, Katie Fairbairn, Jane Kesey, Lynda Myers, Mendocino College Board of Trustees, Pacific Redwood Medical Group, Inc., Mendocino College Full Time Faculty, Rotary Club of Kelseyville, Mendocino College Foundation, Travelodge & Fairfield Inn & Suites, Susan Janssen, and to all of our anonymous donors, thank you. On the coast, Ginny Rorby, John Swartley & Debra Cohen, Hilary Miller, Garden Ranch Real Estate Eric Miller, Nancy Severy, Fort Bragg Center for Laser & Cosmetic Dentistry, Alan Limbird DDS, Kathleen Janes, Susan Larkin & James Ehlers, State Farm Insurance Carol Millsap, Andrew & Linda Banta, State Farm Insurance Sean Leland, Kathryn Pye & Robert Becker, Eileen Sorrels, Full Circle Family Fund, Norma Watkins & Les Cizek, Harvest Market, Craig & Joan Woods, "In Honor of Carl Sanders" J.T. & R.J.Sparks, Kathleen Holmes, David & Anne Turner, Doug & Diane Hammerstrom, Kate Donohue, Notty Bumbo, Schooners Landing Campground & Restoration Area, Gabrielle Levine, Lea Christensen Ph.D., Rotary Club of Mendocino & John Cottle.       

For more information about the Mendocino College Foundation or to donate towards any of their programs, call 707-467-1018.

Learn How Your Gift Benefits Our Future